#MeToo Movement and the Women in Cinema Collective (WCC)


18-May-2019 | 08:00 PM | The Stein Auditorium

Synopsis: A panel discussion on the #MeToo Movement and the formation of the Women in Cinema Collective (WCC) in the Malayalam film industry featuring actor Rima Kallingal, Jubith Namradath, Director of Aabhasam and film critic Anna M. M. Vetticad.

Rima Kallingal: An Indian film actress, Rima Kallingal predominantly appears in the Malayalam cinema. After being named First Runner-up in the Miss Kerala 2008 contest, she went on to pursue a career in acting. She made her acting debut in the 2009 film ‘Ritu’ and later appeared in ‘Neelathaamara’ and continues to work in Malayalam films as actor and Producer. She is one of the founding members of the Women in Cinema Collective (WCC), the pioneering organization for women workers in the Malayalam film industry.

Jubith Namradath: The passion of Cinema beckoned Jubith Namradath in Chennai, where he was working as a UI Specialist at Xchanging Inc. He resigned from his job to pursue cinema and did his first short film ‘Naalu Mazhapaatakal’ (2009). ‘Democracy: To Each His Own’ (2010), which followed, received critical acclaim. Then came ‘Chuvar Chitrangall’ (2010). In 2011, he founded Dravida Entertainments, along with Rajesh Vazhappillil, in Bangalore. Dravida shifted its base to Kochi, later, and forayed further into theatre and short films. ‘Aathmam’ (2015), won the Special Jury Award at the 10th VIBGYOR International Festival, Thrissur. Aabhaasam is his debut feature film.

Anna M.M. Vetticad: Anna MM Vetticad is an award-winning journalist, writer, social commentator and teacher. She is the author of the critically acclaimed bestseller The Adventures of an Intrepid Film Critic, an authoritative overview of Indian society as seen through the prism of the Mumbai-based Hindi film industry – known to the world as Bollywood – and presented through an account of a year in which she watched every single Bollywood film released in India’s National Capital Region. In her current avatar as a freelance journalist, she writes for (and/or has written for) Caravan, Firstpost, Maxim, Forbes, Forbes Life India, Hindustan Times, The Hindu Businessline, Al Jazeera online, The Daily O and Scroll among other media platforms. She is also a recipient of the Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Award 2015 for Commentary and Interpretative Writing.